Blackboard Management

Managing Course Options

 

Cleaning Up the Course List

If you have courses on your list that you do no want to see any longer or that need to be rearranged:

  1. Log on to Blackboard.
  2. In the My Courses section, click on the Settings button.
  3. Rearrange the order of the courses by dragging the arrows.
  4. Next to any course you do not want to see, click the box under Course Name to uncheck it.

Instructors only below.

Merging a Course

If you would like to merge courses or course sections in Blackboard, please contact the Helpdesk at (512) 313-4357 or submit a work order request.

Archiving a Course

Archiving a course allows you to create a "backup copy" of your course in a .zip file format. Archive your course site regularly and keep those archives as backups. Save them in a safe place.

To archive your course:

  1. In the Course Management Control Panel, click on Packages and Utilities.
  2. Click on Export/Archive Course.
  3. Click Archive for a complete backup (includes students) OR click Export for a copy of all course materials (excludes students) and select areas to be included.
  4. You will receive an email message when the process has been completed.
  5. Repeat steps 1 and 2 to acess the .zip file, and click on the file and save it to your desktop.

Note: Do NOT select the option to automatically open the .zip file.

The Blackboard server is backed up regularly to allow restoration of all courses in the event of a catastrophic failure. If you accidentally destroy or erase part of your site, you are responsible for having a copy of your data. Instructional Technology can help you restore the data from your archive copy.

Copying a Course

Note: You will need to have the Course ID or CRN of the course section you want to transfer the original course into.

  1. Select the original (previous) course from your course list.
  2. In the Course Management Control Panel, click on Packages and Utilities.
  3. Select Course Copy.
  4. Make sure that Copy Course Materials into an Existing Course is listed in the Select Copy Type box.
  5. Enter Destination Course ID (new course) into the box.
  6. Check all course materials you want copied into the new course.
  7. Click Submit to copy materials to the newer course.
This page was last updated on Aug. 15, 2013.
Problem with this page? Contact the Web Content Manager.
Our mission is to develop Christian leaders