Per Texas state law, all new students under the age of 22 are required to show proof of meningococcal vaccination within the last 5 years. For more information, please see the Texas Department of State Health Services.
Bacterial meningitis is a serious, potentially deadly disease that can progress very quickly and may be fatal in as little as 48 hours. It is an inflammation of the membranes that surround the brain and spinal cord. The bacteria that cause meningitis can also infect the blood. This disease strikes about 3,000 Americans each year, including 100-125 on college campuses, leading to 5-15 deaths among college students every year. There is treatment, but those who survive may develop severe health problems or disabilities. It is important to consult a physician about the need for immunization to prevent disease. For more information on college students and bacterial meningitis, please review this information sheet.
In accordance with Texas State Law SB 62, all entering or returning students under the age of 22 as of the university’s first day of class for a particular semester must be immunized against bacterial meningitis. The immunization or a booster must have been received less than five years and at least 10 days prior to the first day of class. Under certain circumstances, the university may grant extensions to individual students to extend the compliance date to no more than 10 days after the first day of the semester or other term in which the student initially enrolls.
Although no vaccine offers 100% protection, the meningococcal vaccine offers the most complete protection against bacterial meningitis. Additional information is available from the Centers for Disease Control.
In order to register for classes, all students under the age of 22 must properly complete and submit one of the following compliance documents:
- a vaccination certificate, or
- a doctor's note exempting the student due to health risks
Please note: After consultation with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, we are currently unable to accept conscientious exemption affidavits due to the current public health disaster in the state of Texas related to COVID-19, declared on March 19, 2020. All incoming students must have a vaccination certificate or a medical exemption on file.
Documents can be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org. Additionally, please feel free to reach out to Admissions with any additional questions or concerns you may have.